Ethostream

Ethostream is based in Milwaukee, WI

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Positive Reviews 7 Negative Reviews Average Rating: 2.472.472.472.472.47

11 Responses to “Ethostream”

  1. xombicide wrote on January 31st, 2009:

    Overall55555
    Support55555
    Speed55555

    I first used Ethostream at a hotel in Morgantown, WV. It’s overall usability was fantastic and super speedy. I had a few glitches but once I contacted a hotel representative, my service was back up in no time due to his great experience with the system. I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family. Especially since you get free service just by checking into the hotel.

  2. Guest wrote on December 28th, 2009:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    Has anyone else had issues with their proxy bar?

  3. Ronja wrote on March 18th, 2010:

    Overall22222
    SupportNot Rated
    Speed22222

    I paid the hotel $12.99 for internet service for our room. My friend and I are college students and both have good incomes, but we still need to watch our money a little bit. We felt it was worth paying for the service if we were both going to be online in the evening and playing WOW. Unfortunatly, once I logged on my friend was blocked from getting on himself.

    It turns out it wasn’t per room, it was per IP address, wich we weren’t told. The hotel told us that it was OUR responsibility to let them know that there was going to be more than one internet user in the room, and that we had to pay the fee again if we both wanted to get online.

    It was only after threatening to raise a fuss that they gave us a second password with login. Once we both got online we realized that the speed was aweful. It reminded me of the dialup days. We will not be using this service again, and will avoid any hotels using it.

  4. Brandon wrote on February 26th, 2011:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    Ethostream is a fucking joke. While my wife and I were staying at the Plaza Hotel in Milwaukee, where we would be for 6 weeks for work, Ethostream was the only option. The connection, of which there were 4 available points, was horrible. On top of that, one day our connection got about 5 times slower than dial-up. To their credit, when I called support they were on the phone quickly to address my concern. Turns out, even though I was downloading no heavy volume or even doing so much as watching a Youtube video, Ethostream was throttling me. I asked to be excluded from any throttling and ask why I had been in the first place. The answer was that there had been a complaint about the speed of the connection in our hotel (though the cust. rep told me less than HALF the bandwidth was being used.) and that they had decided that MY computer was the problem. Again, I was not downloading anything or watching anything even as lightweight as a Youtube video.

    Once the throttle was lifted, my pages would at least load, but the connection began to get worse and worse and worse. The signal itself deteriorated to the point of not being able to connect and the speed was almost as slow as before, often times not even being able to load gmail, much less open or send an actual email.

    Ethostream is an absolute joke. If they are going to “provide” wireless services for their clients then they should also have a hard-wired option so that their service can be used with at least some semblance of acceptable speed.

  5. SId wrote on May 3rd, 2011:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    Ethostream you probably beat the worst in the segment of internet connection providers.

    You are in the global top charts for the worst as well,I have been to many countries but never saw a connection as slow as yours. Congrats on that !!!

    To the clients(Hotels) please its very frustrating to work with such slow speeds, I will never stay at the hotel where Ethostream provides the services.

    I was unable to give 0 star rating to you, system makes it mandatory to give you 1 star which by the way you don’t deserve.

  6. Chet wrote on September 5th, 2011:

    Overall44444
    Support55555
    Speed44444

    http://www.speedtest.com results of speed test 9/5/11 at 02:30hrs EDT

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/1466682910.png

    I am staying at the Comfort Inn of Belleville MI here on business, their service provider wifi is Ethostream. And I am not complaining.
    ping 14ms, download-18.18mbps, upload 5.44mbps.

    Way better than a Clear WiMax device on their most expensive plan.

  7. James wrote on September 26th, 2011:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    I work in a Hotel with Ethostream service, and it is the WORST. Every guest has to call Tech Support, give them their IP address and then get access to the “service”. Every time I call Tech Support they tell me nothing is wrong w/ the service, but yet they need to talk to every guest to give them access. If the service is working fine, then why do they need to speak to every guest that tries to access the service? One of the Techs told me what web-site one of our guest was viewing which I thought was a huge invasion of privacy, not to mention a serious lapse in security. We are in the process of finding another vendor for our Wi-Fi service, as Ethostream has provided us with nothing more than customer aggravation and lost revenue.

  8. Dmitriy wrote on December 8th, 2011:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    After using ethostream I now see the silver lining to a nuclear holocaust, it really is that far beyond bad. But seriously If internet is important to you in any way never stay at a location that has ethostream and please inform them of this reason. The fast this company goes out of bussiness the better!

  9. larry wrote on March 18th, 2012:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    ethostream suchs its slower than dial up i wish i could give it zero stars

  10. Rubens wrote on July 13th, 2012:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    SpeedNot Rated

    I stayed at Windmark Seaside (Seaside, OR) which uses Ethostream. First of all, no wifi, just this power line carrier system with an ethernet jack and a long cord. What a joke in 2012! Second, the performance is the worst I have ever encountered – 20% plus packet loss. Latencies > 500ms to the local router. Virtually unusable.

  11. styrling wrote on April 25th, 2013:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    Using ethostream here in Baton Rouge. Absolutely horrible speed. Service cuts out about once a week. Pings are usually anywhere between 1000ms to 30000ms. Sometimes, you’ll get a time out on the pings for several seconds.

Leave a Reply

Overall
Support
Speed

This blog is monetized using Are-PayPal WP Plugin