Guest-Tek

Guest-Tek is based in Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Be Sociable, Share!
3 Positive Reviews 8 Negative Reviews Average Rating: 2.032.032.032.032.03

15 Responses to “Guest-Tek”

  1. Angela wrote on February 15th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support44444
    Speed44444

    The hotel I stayed at in Canada had this system. I wont say who just because they kicked us out claiming my pet smelled but anyway, the internet did go down one evening but when it was running it was a decent speed most of the time but it did go down for a few minutes here and there but only the once all night.

  2. Steve Smith wrote on November 1st, 2009:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    I had nothing but good experiences using Guest Tek.

  3. Dane wrote on November 23rd, 2009:

    Overall11111
    Support33333
    Speed11111

    Stayed at the Country Inn at Mall of America. I literally couldn’t pull up a web page from 4:30 to 7:00 at night it was so slow. Called the provider, who was apparently Guest-Tek and they said the hotel didn’t have enough bandwidth. Overall, unimpressed

  4. David wrote on February 4th, 2010:

    Overall22222
    SupportNot Rated
    Speed33333

    I just tried to use the GuestTek system at the Hard Rock hotel in Chicago and was not impressed. Signal wasn’t bad and when I was connected, the speed was actually pretty good, but I couldn’t stay connected. I was on hold with support for so long that I hung up before they answered. Improvement needed.

  5. danny wrote on March 15th, 2010:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed33333

    I stay at hotels 48 weeks out of the year for business. I will avoid any hotel with guest tek internet… It is horrible! I stayed at an ESA in los angeles for three months and had to call their support desk every day! It only works for about an hour and then it slows to a 5min email loading time… They always use the same excuse ” someone is abusing the network by downloading music”. another time i called and told them i was trying to watch a video on you tube and it would not load. They said “watching youtube videos are abusing the network” and kicked me off the server. Got back on the next day and still slow…. This internet service is horrible and I will never stay at another hotel that uses them for internet!

  6. Snort wrote on February 7th, 2011:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    I have to write this again, as the info was lost in submitting last time.
    Here goes:
    If you like getting dicked around, you will love Guest Tek. If, on the other hand, you want someone to answer your reasonable questions, get ready for evasive maneuvers and outright lies. Bandwidth sucks and they’ll blame you and other hotel guests for using too much. This, despite the fact that your hotel is nearly empty.
    Unprofessional, sarcastic at times, unhelpful most of the time.

  7. Snort wrote on February 7th, 2011:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    OK, let’s give them star ratings. These are ‘negative’ stars, by the way.

  8. jay wrote on March 31st, 2011:

    Overall44444
    Support33333
    Speed33333

    yeah keep blaming installer/supporting company, not the hotel that keeps buying low 1,5 mbps bandwith per 100 rooms.

    This is just plane crazy how you people do not even know how everything works in HOTELS.

    Cheers,

  9. Frank Forsythe wrote on August 16th, 2011:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    Absolutely terrible service and going forward I will ask the hotel where I am staying if they use this service – if they do, then I will look for other options. I need my computer & an internet connection for my work and this is completely unacceptable. Calling in for help gets you excuses on how it is YOUR fault and saying just whatever ‘technical sounding lie” that pops into their heads. Oh, and I am in hotels for my work almost constantly so hotel chains, beware. You *ARE* losing customers if you stick with these folks.

  10. Brian wrote on December 2nd, 2011:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I’m staying at ESA in Rancho Cordova, CA. Guest-Tek is the worst internet service I’ve had to deal with in a hotel. I’m a road warrior type and have experiances all ranges of hotels/motels. This is the worst as far as internet goes. The access point keeps dropping. I have to call on a daily basis to get them to reset the AP. I’ve badgered the front deske enough that I know which room my AP is in and make them go up to manually reset it, instead of calling Guest-Tek. The AP is just a crappy home version. I will be checking from now on if a hotel has Guest-Tek.. If they do, I won’t stay!!

  11. Abysmal Wyndham wrote on December 10th, 2012:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    GuesTek is the worst, the worst, THE WORST!!!
    I have been a long-term guest in many hotels for my job, and GuesTek is an absolute nightmare to deal with. I will avoid Wyndham hotels for the rest of my life because of GuesTeks incompetence.
    If you ever stay in a Wyndham hotel, you can expect that the wifi will be down more often than it is up, and when it is up, it is slo-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-w.
    Worse still is the procedure for reporting outages.
    GuesTek demands that each individual guest must call and report the outage individually before they will take the complaint seriously, so simply reporting the outage to the front-desk won’t do. You must call the 800 number every time and report it yourself, wait for them to verify your room number and name, then report the problem. They will often try to get you to go through the tedious “ping-testing” procedure so they can be absolutely sure that the problem is with their network before starting work on it–they will do this for half an hour if you don’t cut them off and tell them to get to work fixing their useless network.
    I will never stay at another Wyndham hotel, there is no excuse for such poor service. Wyndham should PAY ME for dealing with this BS.

  12. About to lose it in Rochester wrote on December 20th, 2012:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I am currently staying at an ESA in Rochester, NY… and have been here for 6 weeks. They do not have wired internet available… only wireless. The “Free Wifi” they advertise is a joke. The connection speed fluctuates between 11 Mbps and 54 Mbps. I opted to pay the $30.00 for thirty days of the “Faster Speed..” package. I have had to call Guest-Tek no less than twenty times, since I signed up for the service. If my computer has to restart to install updates, the signal that I paid for doesn’t seem to be able to find me and it reverts to the “Free” signal (slooowwwww speed). I then have to call Guest-Tek and sometimes I get an agent who knows exactly what needs to be done… other times, I speak with someone who is clueless and has me on hold for 30 minutes while they try to figure it out. I did speak with a supervisor named Lucas, who knew what to do… did it… and I could see my computer speed jump up to 104 Mbps immediately! That is what I paid/am still paying for!! I wish I knew which office Lucas was in. I’d ask for him every time. Sadly, I just got off the phone with a supervisor named “Oscar”, in the Calgary office, who decided to argue with me and treat me like I’m an idiot. My next activity will be writing a letter to their corporate office. I am sick of dealing with Guest-Tek.

  13. HowDoTheyStayInBusiness wrote on July 26th, 2013:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.
    Been in the same hotel several months for a work project. Have to call GuestTek EVERY FEW HOURS to reset their routers. They don’t think this is a problem. They consider this an acceptable way to do business. Asked them to troubleshoot and try to figure out what the problem was–they couldn’t fix it, whatever they did made it EVEN WORSE, which I didn’t think was possible.
    For the rest of my life I will ask every hotel before I check in if they use GuestTek and refuse to stay there if they do.
    THEY NEED TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS. It isn’t that hard to figure out how to keep a wifi router up, KIDS CAN DO IT!
    Just unbelievable that they’re even in business.

  14. HowDoTheyStayInBusiness wrote on July 26th, 2013:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    @Jay, how do you like working for GuestTek? Your loyalty to such a lousy company is impressive– or did you get a bonus to write that?
    It is NOT that difficult to configure a wifi network to actually WORK–unless you work for GuestTek.
    I am currently in a room where there are routers twenty feet to my left AND to my right; GuestTek INTENTIONALLY keeps the range set lower than that, and they require a phone call to GuestTek to reset them roughly every 4 hours.
    None of that is under the control of the hotel, IT’S ALL GUESTTEK, and having their employees whine on a review blog to try to blame the hotels instead of GuestTek’s own INCOMPETENCE isn’t fooling anyone.
    But nice try, I hope they pay you well, at least.

  15. HowDoTheyStayInBusiness wrote on July 26th, 2013:

    OverallNot Rated
    Support55555
    SpeedNot Rated

    Just called GuestTek to reset AGAIN (4th time in 24 hours!), and I actually do have ONE positive thing to say about them; their techs have a remarkable ability to remain calm and polite even when I’m ripping them a new orifice about how horrible the service is. So 5 stars on “support”, only because the techs have a super-human ability to remain polite; UNFORTUNATELY I DON’T WANT POLITENESS, WHAT I WANT IS NOT TO HAVE TO CALL THEM EVERY FEW HOURS TO GET THE WIFI TO WORK!!! I honestly wouldn’t care if they cussed me out on the phone, IF THEY COULD JUST GET THEIR CRAPPY WIFI CONFIGURED TO WORK PROPERLY!

Leave a Reply

Overall
Support
Speed

This blog is monetized using Are-PayPal WP Plugin