RoomLinx

RoomLinx is based in Broomfield, Colorado

Be Sociable, Share!
3 Positive Reviews 2 Negative Reviews Average Rating: 3.33.33.33.33.3

9 Responses to “RoomLinx”

  1. Sri wrote on January 28th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support44444
    Speed44444

    I have used this service on my vacation to Orlando. The wireless signal I had in the room was not that great and did not work when I was trying to stream online videos. However, they have data ports in the rooms I was able to use. Speed was good and I did not find any problems. However, it costs us around $10/night to use this connection.

  2. Trisha wrote on February 15th, 2009:

    Overall44444
    Support44444
    Speed44444

    I’ve used Roomlinx twice now and I would probably use it again. It does get a little sluggish sometimes, I am not sure why. Most of the time it works really well; I prepared presentations using it and I had connectivity issues for maybe five minutes once or twice a day. Overall, it is a pretty good value for the price.

  3. Kim wrote on February 17th, 2009:

    Overall44444
    Support44444
    Speed33333

    We used this service when we were on vacation in Florida this past summer. It worked pretty well most of the time. During the afternoon at times it would get really slow especially when trying to upload a website with a lot of graphics or pictures. However, it was reliable other than being slow at times. I would use it again if I was travelling as we did not have any major issues with it.

  4. Lauren McC. wrote on March 5th, 2009:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    I have had experience with Roomlinx on my vacations to Florida. I have paid anywhere between $10-$15/24 hours to use the service. It is a little patchy, slow sometimes, fast other times, but overall works fairly well. It was efficient enough for me to check my email, do some research, and browse the web. It is definitely one of the better hotel internet services I have used.

  5. sender wrote on June 22nd, 2009:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    Roomlinx is driving me crazy! I’ve stayed at two different Club Intrawest properties lately and both had RoomLinx. In both cases, the service was very unreliable. The signal was weak and the connection kept being dropped. Very frustrating! I’m hopeful that Intrawest will explore a new provider.

  6. Arya wrote on October 13th, 2009:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    Roomlinx is ok. They apparently have a new TV system that I’ve been reading about, but haven’t seen it yet. I will say that of the places I’ve used Roomlinx, the wireless signal was sub-par. Someone needs to talk to them about that.

  7. Arya wrote on October 13th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support33333
    Speed22222

    My ratings

  8. William wrote on August 31st, 2012:

    OverallNot Rated
    Support11111
    SpeedNot Rated

    Requested info and demo for small property, twice, with no response from company.

  9. XRE wrote on December 11th, 2012:

    OverallNot Rated
    SupportNot Rated
    SpeedNot Rated

    I used to work for Roomlinx as a CSR and am not proud of it. I have always excelled in providing quality and sincere customer service to people, but working for Roomlinx was a daily challenge for me. I feel obligated to comment since I believe in providing proper and fair support to the public who deserve true value for their money. Below, I have listed a few things that quickly come to mind:

    1. Many of the calls answered by CSRs (Customer Service Reps) come from frustrated customers and hotel guests that feel they have been misinformed of the service or that it has been misrepresented to them. Roomlinx is putting all there priority and emphasis on Hyatt clientele and leaving a large population of legacy clientele including mostly hospitality and broadband customers all but ignored. CSRs are constantly put in the hot seat with these customers with little to no hope of resolving their issues.
    Example: Hotel guests and customers continually comment on how they do not experience these problems at other hotels. They criticize the difficulty in logging onto the network, limited or no connectivity, slow internet speeds, or the difficulty of using the varied broadband services Roomlinx provides, and then comment on how they are not even charges for some of these same services at other hotels or how simple they are elsewhere.
    2. The product and service Roomlinx provides is put into service before it is ready. The issues they experience from each new site installation are not being addressed or fixed and therefore repeated on the next installation as additional hotels come online. The CEO actually sent out an email addressing this, stating that they must maintain their rigorous installation schedule to the effect that they would have to revisit these sites in an effort to clean up the mess.
    3. They have an inadequate and undedicated training program for new CSRs and NOCs (Network Operations Center supervisor). They promised a knowledge base to the CSRs but never provided it. When training opportunities did exist it was provided by people that were responsible for taking calls and/or constantly being pulled away for other tasks, which repeatedly disrupts the training and learning process. This also carries over to the lack of necessary support by supervisors while on live calls with customers.
    4. Reference materials available and used by CSRs on a regular/daily basis was very disorganized, incomplete, and confusing duplicates made the use of such materials almost impossible. In my opinion, this is a kind assessment!
    5. Communication of critical information is broken and ineffective amongst the CSRs, NOCs and upper management. No proper or thorough procedure is followed on a regular basis that would allow the flow of information from management down to the CSRs. When information does flow, it is inconsistent and lacks updates and proper follow up. Furthermore, information/feedback from CSRs on the frontline of customer service seems to be ignored eliminating the opportunity for management to benefit from value information.
    6. Procedures from one site to another were not following a standard. Although a means to maintain a standard did exist, it was not being used or followed. Instead, emails were used addressing these differences making it necessary to remember a massive amount of information or refer to the emails for guidance. Furthermore, even the follow up to these emails were not being made leaving outdated information as references. This made following procedure extremely difficult and many times left to chance.
    Example: Site specific materials such as Detail Sheets and Site Portal information (mainstream reference materials) were not standardized or even made available at times when new sites came online.
    7. Roomlinx repeatedly misleads CSRs with promises to provide a knowledge base (to assist with training, procedures, and processes) necessary in light of their lack of training. Through my own inquiry I learned what was actually started as a knowledge base was still very much minimal subject matter at best and totally inadequate and even that had not been announced to the team. From conversations I had with other CSRs that have been there the longest, it is strongly suspected that the company is attempting to keep the hotels dependent on the call center and therefore deliberately allows a certain amount of recurring issues to exist. This became apparent when they communicated to us that they did not want any issues acknowledged as self-resolved, when in fact there were a considerable number that would fall into that category.
    8. There is a strange sense of “knowledge coveting” for the lack of a better way of putting it, by those whom would provide training. It’s as if the existing CSRs, NOCs, and other employees are threatened by new people learning to do their jobs. When I first started there I immediately felt left out of the mainstream and my questions were constantly ignored or was told I didn’t need to know that at my tier level, or simply that it wasn’t any of my business.
    9. There is a lack of interpersonal skills amongst the management staffing that deals with CSRs on a regular basis. Condescending attitudes and lack of respect is given to new people eager and willing to learn. The lack of formal training was acknowledged by everyone new and could barely be discussed without NOCs and taking offense and advising not to discuss it.
    10. Unfair expectations of working hours, for example; a CSR must be logged in and ready for calls at the minute their shift begins. This in fact means that one must be logged in, up to date on the status of all sites, and current on all announcements via emails, etc. This can only be accomplished by coming in 10-15 minutes before the shift starts, which is unpaid work time. Also, it is fairly common to receive a call that will carry you into overtime by equal or more time that is also unpaid work time.
    11. The NOCs are salaried and required to work considerable overtime without additional pay. Tier2s are also held to a higher standard and required to fulfill similar obligations. Ultimately, these are choices they made as a result of holding these positions at Roomlinx; however it affects and reflects in their attitudes and treatment of others during the process.
    12. My observation and assessment of Roomlinx operations is related to the service agreement they have with Hyatt. The company was simply not prepared to support such an aggressive completion schedule from the installation, development, or service operations. The mix of new technology and legacy systems is complex and requires much more training for CSRs and NOCs to accomplish their jobs properly. It cannot be over emphasized how information and communication is deficient and lacking for CSRs to perform their jobs properly.
    13. This list could go on…but I only had a minute or two to jot down what came off the top of my mind!

Leave a Reply

Overall
Support
Speed

This blog is monetized using Are-PayPal WP Plugin