Wayport (now a division of AT&T)

Wayport is based in Austin, TX

Be Sociable, Share!
2 Positive Reviews 12 Negative Reviews Average Rating: 2.042.042.042.042.04

14 Responses to “Wayport (now a division of AT&T)”

  1. Jessica wrote on January 25th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support44444
    Speed22222

    I have used Wayport a few times in hotels while traveling for work. I have often had problems logging on and although I have purchased several days, after the first day I’ve had to sign up again for some reason. The price is pretty average compared with similair services but their service should have more troubleshooting information and be a little more reliable.

  2. Brett Riggs wrote on January 28th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support44444
    Speed44444

    I have used wayport a number of times while staying in hotels, and besides the fact that you have to pay to use it, I was satisfied with it. Other hotels that I have used offered free internet services, but if you are planning on staying in a hotel for a period of time, the prices aren’t too bad for wayport, especially if you need and utilize it often.

  3. Jennifer Leighton wrote on January 28th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support33333
    Speed22222

    I’ve used Wayport a total of three times while traveling. The primary issue I’ve had, each time, is connection. Since I’m paying a reasonable price to have connection, it’s very frustrating when I cannot have that connection. The price is fair, IF the connection was reliable. Unfortunately, it’s just not. I did ask for assistance the first two trips, and found them to be less than helpful. When support people are telling me stuff they are well aware that I already know, we really accomplish nothing at all. Overall, I cannot recommend it.

  4. Maryellen W. wrote on January 29th, 2009:

    Overall22222
    Support22222
    Speed22222

    Unfortunately, as others have mentioned, I cannot give a good review of Wayport. Not only do you have to pay, but the service is sketchy at best. The customer service people often have no clue how to help, so if you’re not an expert computer user, you’re out of luck. I now check and see what wi-fi is used at hotels before booking and seriously reconsider if it’s Wayport.

  5. Chris H. wrote on February 1st, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    Wayport was the only service provider available when I was staying at a hotel recently, and I wasn’t pleased. The connection was pretty reliable, but for what I paid for it, the support and speed were really subpar, and I wasn’t able to get on my MMOs due to high latency. I’ve had to start checking out what provider serves hotels I want to book at and look to see if I can find better service somehow else.

  6. Xio wrote on February 4th, 2009:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I have used Wayport once and it will be the last time. For the quality of service that one receives it should really be free. The connection is extremely unreliable. When I got in contact with customer service, they went so far as to say that it was a problem with my computer. I too will reconsider booking a hotel if their wi-fi is Wayport.

  7. Calvin wrote on February 28th, 2009:

    Overall33333
    Support11111
    Speed33333

    Well, i went on a trip last month. and wayport happened to be the only high speed internet provider. Had no choice but to use it. Overall i think they were Ok. I didn’t experience any difficulties as others stated here. But i think for the speed they have, it was a little over priced. Hopefully the company will increase the speed and lower the price a bit.

  8. Maria wrote on February 28th, 2009:

    Overall22222
    Support11111
    Speed22222

    I tend to travel a lot and use my job requires me to use the internet. I used Wayport on my last trip and was less than satisfied. The cost wasn’t the highest ever, but I could not get a strong connection and it to too long for websites to load. I would not want to use Wayport again. It was not a good value for the money.

  9. Daniel wrote on February 28th, 2009:

    Overall44444
    Support33333
    Speed33333

    Wayport gets an overall high score because they are fairly reliable and fairly widely available. My problem with Wayport is that unlike other AT&T access points which provide free wifi to AT&T users Wayport does not. Even a discount would have been nice to recognize loyalty to AT&T. Overall though this is an acceptable service provider.

  10. Maggie wrote on March 5th, 2009:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I am a hotel executive and my company uses Wayport. Often I am at other hotels doing property conversions and many of these do not use Wayport. The best thing about doing takeovers is not having to deal with Wayport. It is a real pain in the u know what. I often get fed up with it trying to work out of my room, so I boot the GM out of his office and connect directly through their provider.

  11. Olivia wrote on March 13th, 2009:

    Overall22222
    Support22222
    Speed22222

    I have only used this service once, but I must agree with several of the others about connection. I paid for the service which was not bad, but the connection was not great. I had so much difficulty getting connected that I became very ill. I went to the manager hoping to get help there. I found none. I finally went to a local cafe that was open and offered free internet and completed my work. Needless to say, they didn’t refund my money.

  12. Nate wrote on June 29th, 2009:

    Overall11111
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I’ve used wayport on several occesions while staying at resorts. Every time I have used Wayport the latency has been so bad I wished I brought my modem; 56kbs has never looked so good in my life. It has been anywhere between 300ms which I can live with up to 19s.

  13. Steve wrote on October 1st, 2012:

    Overall22222
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I make 12-15 business trips a year; not a lot, but enough. I need good VoIP, email, and VPN connection speeds for work. I need good connection and low latency for recreation (MMO play). Hotels with Wayport (now AT&T service) have been consistently terrible at meeting all four of these needs. Pingtest.net produces consistent D and F ratings (4-6% packet loss, pings of 120+, jitter of 120+). The hotel staff and amenities can be great, but if I can’t do what I need/want to do, I need to find other hotels. (Hello, Hilton chain?)

  14. Mark Juno wrote on June 4th, 2013:

    Overall22222
    Support11111
    Speed11111

    I am at home wood suites Clearwater right now. Wayport went down in the middle of the night and still hasn’t come back. When it works, there are lags, delay, failures for no reason. This is the worst Internet I’ve ever used.

    How am I writing this? Verizon 4g on iPad since wayport is such junk.

Leave a Reply

Overall
Support
Speed

This blog is monetized using Are-PayPal WP Plugin